Charlie's Four Swords Manga Rambling

Back to main page


Yes, I know this looks like a social media feed. Sorry.
I sometimes have ideas that don't warrant their own big webpages, and I'm too lazy to make a page with a ton of links on them, so this was the best I could think of.
I hate social media as much as any smart person.

Great news! I no longer need to dump my thoughts here!
This page will stay up just in case any ideas stimulate ideas in other people, but it will not be updated.
Thank you for reading!


04/08/2023 9:14 PM
You know how right after Vio pretends to join the dark side, it shows a text bubble with someone saying "Green! Green!" before Green wakes up from his massage-induced nap? My gut instinct says that the voice is Red, but now that I think about it... Could it be Vio's soul calling out for Green now that he's in trouble pretending to be on Shadow's side?

04/08/2023 9:12 AM
I'm too lazy to write out all my thoughts right now but I have an insane theory on the Light Force and power of the Elements. I will make a page on it at some point.

03/04/2023 6:37 PM
I'm too tired to write out all of my thoughts but Shadow being the true main antagonist for 90% of the manga was definitely on purpose. Himekawa wanted to contrast his lonely, solitary self with the Links, who have each other. There's more to this than I'm writing here, but I needed to get that thought down.

02/28/2023 (TIME WAS NOT RECORDED)
Shadow's font in the Japanese version is the same as the font used for Vaati and some other dark creatures... I think this means that his voice has a echo/reverb/delay.

02/25/2023 5:37 PM
I think Shadow bleeds black ink rather than blood. The stuff that comes out with him when he respawns is magical black ink that fades away after he fully forms. On the same subject matter, I think Shadow normally can't be cut, but you can cut him with the Four Sword...

02/17/2023 6:46 PM
"Blue is a trans boy" "Blue is a trans girl" Both are correct. It does not matter which you pick so long as you agree that Blue is not cis.

02/13/2023 10:12 PM
If Shadow isn't Link, but he also only exists because he is connected to Link and therefore is part of Link, then who is he? Who is he?

02/13/2023 10:10 PM
Chad "Vio and Shadow hate each other" versus incel "Vio and Shadow are in love"

01/31/2023 1:04 PM
So do you ever think about how Shadow looked ready to throw Vio to the wolves if he lost the duel with Green, whereas Red and Blue were genuinely concerned for Green the entire time he was dueling and just wanted him to come out okay from it?

01/21/2023 2:59 PM
Thinking about the whole trope where someone says "I'm home" after seeing someone they love again, and the person they love says "welcome home", but Green is the first person and the other Links are the second group of people.

01/21/2023 1:44 PM
Listen to me. All of the Links are dating Zelda. And by dating, I mean they do whatever Zelda says, and she owes them nothing. I do not "ship" them, if that makes sense.

01/05/2023 10:09 PM
People debate about the thief kid being Shadow or not, but where's the debate about if the Vio at the Temple of Darkness is Shadow or the real Vio?

01/05/2023 9:40 PM
WHEN WILL THE LINKED UNIVERSE FANS WITH THEIR SHIT IDIOT BRAIN FUNGUS STOP CONFLATING THE MANGA WITH THEIR SHITTY TUMBLR COMIC.

01/03/2023 10:56 AM
The Adolescence of Link. The End of Four Swords. Both would be horrible movies unless we made a lot of changes, but I like the way those titles sound.

01/02/2023 8:29 PM
IDK whether to put this here or on a different page but I tend to stick to the Japanese version of the manga for information rather than the Viz translation or fan translation. Sorry in advance if this bothers anyone.

01/02/2023 7:42 PM
Linked Universe fans are so annoying. Stop calling the Links "Colors" and actually consume the manga instead of crosstagging all your stupid Linked Universe shit as stuff for the manga.

01/02/2023 7:41 PM
This user hates Linked Universe!

12/29/2022 9:45 PM
How did Blue know that Shadow can change his appearance back at the Temple of Darkness? He hadn't seen Shadow change his appearance up to that point. Maybe Red told Blue about the thief kid in Kakariko, but Red wasn' shown to do that, and he probably didn't know the thief kid was Shadow.

12/29/2022 9:44 PM
So like. Is the woman who massaged Green a Zuna woman, or is she supposed to be a Gerudo woman? She looks more like the Zuna women in Four Swords Adventures, but the Zuna are never mentioned in the manga. Also, was it just a coincidence that she put Green to sleep, or was she hired by/asked by the dark side to put Green to sleep?

12/26/2022 6:47 PM
My Splatoon AU is like this: Green uses a Splat Brella, Red uses a Heavy Splatling, Blue uses a Gold Dynamo Roller, Vio uses a REEF-LUX 450, and Shadow uses a Splatana Wiper. The four main Links are Inklings, and Shadow is an Octoling. I like to imagine that Green is Agent 3 and Shadow is Agent 8.

12/23/2022 6:39 PM
You know that bonus manga gag where Shadow tries to order stuff online but he can only add Vaati to his cart? That's actually a really deep metaphor and I refuse to shut up about it.

12/15/2022 11:16 AM
I'll say it again. Shipping the Links is stupid. Sibling dynamics is so much better. Shipping is a plague on the Internet.

12/15/2022 9:21 AM
Notice how all the people who have actually good character/story analysis and ideas are the ones who see the Links as brothers or don't ship the Links together. Funny how that works. It's almost like shipping rots your brain.

12/15/2022 9:09 AM
Any time someone says the Links are brothers instead of just teammates or friends I feel so unreasonably happy. Down with shipping. Up with good families.

12/14/2022 12:51 PM
SPEAKING OF SHADOW RESPAWNING. We never get canon confirmation on what is covering Shadow when he comes out of the Dark Mirror. To me, it looks like black ink. I like to think that it is ink which magically disappears once Shadow has fully formed. I also like to think that he bleeds ink rather than blood, but he can still blush the same way Hylians do (as we see in canon).

12/14/2022 12:46 PM
I know this has no basis in canon, but I like when people draw art of Shadow being vulnerable - not in a weird softboy way, but more like he has a lot of stuff weighing on him, and he's starting to admit it. I know that, canonically, he's too proud to admit he needs help, but I like to think that maybe, in a post-manga AU, he learns to be a bit vulnerable and accept help from others. It's interesting to think he doesn't want to fall into learned helplessness, so he pushes back by being aggressive and ignoring his problems. IDK. I saw some art where Shadow was respawing from the Dark Mirror and looking downtrodden while he has so many things weighing on him, and it really caught my attention. There was some other art where it emphasized how his lack of self is driven by others' desires for him, which is such a good take on him. IDK. I wish there was more analysis of him along those lines instead of "analysis" meant to support a ship.

12/13/2022 12:18 PM
What does it mean if Shadow was able to mimic Vio almost perfectly and made Vio to be a selfless person even though Vio hurt him so badly? What does it mean?

12/11/2022 10:02 PM
It is sad how many people forget that Green has a special weapon like the others do, but even more people seem to forget that Red has a slingshot in addition to the Fire/Ice Rod. Every time there's a lineup of the Links with their special weapons, but Green just has his Four Sword instead of his boomerang, I sit there disappointed.

12/10/2022 11:21 AM
If I could have one selfish wish, it would be that I had the entire magazine run of the Four Swords manga.

12/08/2022 9:46 AM
Hi! What the fuck was Vio talking about when he said that the Dark World is similar to the Light World, just like the Links are similar to each other!

12/07/2022 11:39 PM
Shadow has a crush on Zelda and it is painfully obvious.

12/07/2022 7:24 PM
Vio has a shirt and the front says "God wouldn't let me die" and the back says "so I killed him".

12/04/2022 10:22 PM
Just so we are clear. I hate Linked Universe so much it's unreal. None of my ideas are about Linked Universe. They are literally only about the canon Four Swords manga. Hope this helps.

12/03/2022 11:56 AM
Blue Link! Motherfuckin' Blue Link!! Everybody clap!!

12/01/2022 7:11 PM
I DONT KNOW HOW BUT THEY FOUND ME is literally a Green band. No I will not elaborate.

12/01/2022 6:54 PM
HIMEKAWA IS MAKING ANOTHER ARTBOOK... WILL IT HAVE MORE FS STUFF IN IT?

11/29/2022 8:17 PM
We don't need a general The Legend of Zelda movie. We need a Four Swords manga movie. Also we need figurines of the Links.

11/25/2022 8:13 PM
I wish I could make a documentary about the making of the Four Swords manga. I wish I could interview Himekawa and get access to all the concept and rough sketches they ever did. I want to know how they came up with the major changes to the story. All we really have is how they chose the personalities of the Links, and this isn't even confirmed to be how they chose the personalities since Red's doesn't match up with the Red Link's.

11/25/2022 6:30 PM
I want more art of the Links as a family, taking family photos. I want Shadow to be sitting in the center as the others surround him, putting a hand on him or looking at him to show they accept him. I need that catharsis on his behalf.

11/25/2022 9:09 AM
Vio (he/she/they): Hey, can I have your pronouns?
Blue (he): Uh, sure? He/him.
Vio (he/he/she/they): :)
Blue ( ): ?
Blue ( ):WHERE THE FUCK ARE MY PRONOUNS??????

11/25/2022 7:43 AM
"ScarVio"? Isn't that just when Vio shows someone the scar on his left hand from when Blue threw a rock at it?

11/24/2022 11:56 AM
The irony of Shadow killing Vio with Vio's Four Sword. Good lord. Poetic cinema.

11/23/2022 12:18 PM
TW: Suicide
I think Vio is suicidal, but he wouldn't tell anyone. I think he would off himself one day and hope no one finds his corpse. If someone did find it, he'd be apologizing to them from the afterlife. I think he wishes he could tell someone, but he doesn't want to be a bother - because Hylia knows Shadow already hates his ass, and he thinks the others should too.

11/22/2022 9:10 PM
Green and Shadow are severely underrated as a duo.

11/22/2022 9:09 PM
Do you think Vio hates that he has a heart? I think about that a lot.